Hornet Softball Splits with #11 Virginia Wesleyan

Jessi Hall had five hits on the afternoon
Jessi Hall had five hits on the afternoon

For immediate release - 3/21/2015 - #352

Hornet Softball Splits with #11 Virginia Wesleyan

LYNCHBURG, VA - The Lynchburg College softball team split an Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) doubleheader Saturday with 11th-ranked Virginia Wesleyan College, dropping the first game 7-6 and winning the second 5-2.

A Hornet rally in the opener wasn't enough to close the gap as Virginia Wesleyan hung on for the win. The Marlins scored four runs in the top of the fourth to go ahead 7-3, but LC closed to 7-6 with three in the bottom of the sixth frame. Nicole Riley's hit a two-run double in the inning, but the Hornets left two runners stranded. LC got the tying run on base in the seventh but couldn't even the score.

Senior Jessi Hall reached base safely in all four of her plate appearances, going 3-3 with a walk and a stolen base. Amber Ingram belted a two-run home run and Olivia Donahue went 2-3. Taylor Galvin went 2-3 with a double, a home run, two runs and four RBI for the Marlins.

Virginia Wesleyan scored two runs in the top of the first of the nightcap, but the LC bullpen spun 6 2/3 of scoreless relief. Hope Johnson threw 4 2/3 innings and allowed just three hits and one walk to earn the win, and Conner English threw 1 2/3 effective innings to close the game out and pick up her second save of the season.

LC pushed across three runs in the fourth to go ahead 3-2, scoring on a fielder's choice, a groundout and a throwing error. Danielle Powell brought home two runs in the fifth with a two out single and the score remained 5-2 the rest of the way.Hall had two of Lynchburg's four hits in the second game. Galvin and Blake Hender each homered for VWC (12-4/2-2 ODAC). 

Lynchburg (13-6/5-1 ODAC hosts Ferrum College Sunday at 2 p.m. for a non-conference doubleheader.

Mon Sep 16
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 1
Tue Sep 17
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
Wed Aug 21
7:30 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Scrimmage
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
No Event
View Full Schedule