Faculty/Team Mentor Program

Mission Statement

The Athletics Faculty/Team Mentor Program is an avenue to better facilitate the integration of athletics and academics. The team mentor will interact with the athlete to more fully understand the realities associated with balancing academic and athletic obligations. Learning and interacting with caring faculty and team mentor role models can make all the difference in a student-athlete's academic and athletic experience.

Application form (please fill out and return to athletic director Jon Waters at waters.j@lynchburg.edu).

GUIDELINES FOR MENTORS

1. To support the academic development of the student-athlete.
2. To promote understanding and communication between faculty, athlete, and students.
3. Provide coaches an additional resource to help advise student-athletes with academic matters.
4. To be a resource or counsel the student-athlete on issues of mental health and well-being.
5. Informally interact with student-athletes and coaches.
6. To facilitate a student-athlete and professor interactions.
7. Build strong friendships with student-athletes and coaches.
8. Meet with prospective student-athletes when they come on campus.
9. Advise and help freshmen on how to adjust to university life.
10. Attend practices and games.
11. Allowed to be on the sideline during competition.
12. Attend special team function, cook-outs, dinners, lunches, adventure activities, runs.
13. Travel with team to selected games.
14. Receive team apparel.
15. Be a big fan.

Each team mentor will have his or her own style and way of interacting with the student-athletes and coaches. The amount of time spent with the team will vary from mentor to mentor. It is not necessary for the mentor to be an expert in the sport field. They are there to create a partnership between faculty, student-athletes, and coaches.

Here is a list of our current mentors . . .

ATHLETICS FACULTY AND TEAM MENTOR PROGRAM

2018-2019

SPORT

HEAD COACH

TEAM MENTOR & PROGRAM

Baseball

Lucas Jones

Dr. Steve Smith, Health and Physical Education

Men’s Basketball

Hilliary Scott

Dr. Paul McClure, Sociology

Women’s Basketball

Abby Pyzik Smith

Dr. Jamie Brooks, Biology

Cheerleading

Jessica Wilson

Dr. Virginia Cylke, Psychology
Equestrian Justine Betzler Dr. Nancy Cowden, Biology

Field Hockey

Enza Steele

Dr. David Lipani, English
Golf Michael Veverka Dr. Adam Dean, History

Men’s Lacrosse

Steve Koudelka

Dr. Danny Hedrick, Sport Management
Dr. Tom Bowman, Athletic Training

Women’s Lacrosse

Bruce Reid

Dr. Sean M. Collins, Exercise Physiology

Men’s Soccer

Chris Yeager

Dr. Samrat Thapa, Chemistry
Women's Soccer Dr. Todd Olsen Dr. Lindsay Pieper, Sport Management

Softball

Dawn Simmons

Dr. Debbie Bradney, Athletic Training
Dr. Jill Lucas, Exercise Physiology

Men's and Women's Swimming

Brad Dunn

Dr. Emily Evans, Athletic Training
Dr. Edward G. DeClair, International Relations

Men's and Women's Tennis

Chris Johnson

Dr. Raciel Alonso, Spanish

Men’s and Women’s Track & Field

Jim Sprecher

Dr. Doug Thomasey, Mathematics

Volleyball Elizabeth Ellinger Dr. Kari Benson, Biology and Environmental Science

--LYN--

Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule